singlesgift.blogg.se

Homebrew m1
Homebrew m1













homebrew m1

My take-away was that Homebrew is hipster, and MacPorts is old school. There’s an extensive follow-up discussion on Hacker News, for those who want to dive deep: Just make sure you set your $PATH to point to the one you want to use. Homebrew uses /usr/local/ and MacPorts “famously” does not (it uses /opt/local/ instead).

homebrew m1

I’ve never run into any issues with Homebrew not having something I wanted (at least not that I can remember) but if you drift into the more-obscure, you might find MacPorts a better option. That being said, I believe that MacPorts still has many more packages than Homebrew.

#Homebrew m1 mac

I’m not sure why that is, but Homebrew has caught the collective Mac Nerd Eye, and MacPorts has not. Whenever this discussion comes up, MacPorts is usually dismissed out of hand. I do not know if MacPorts supports M1 natively yet. Even MacPorts calls it a “legacy platform” but it still works for the few things I need.) (Ironically, I just installed MacPorts today on my iMac, because it’s running El Capitan, and Homebrew no longer works on El Capitan - which I can’t really blame them for, it’s very old. They have also said they will make it easy to change over to M1 once support is available.

homebrew m1

I have been running Homebrew under Rosetta without issue. M1 support is hopefully coming “soon” but no value of “soon” has been given or suggested. Homebrew does not yet support M1 hardware at all, and they are currently recommending that you run Terminal.app under Rosetta if using Homebrew on an M1 Mac.















Homebrew m1